Diapers, wipes, and pins…how soon the fun begins!  You never realize looking back how easy it was to change your darling baby’s diaper when they were a mere few  weeks, or even a few months old.  Then you are struck with a new reality once you flash forward to the present time, where it is almost impossible to change your now 13-month-old.  On top of that, she now has a terrible recurring diaper rash, due to her teething, on and off, for the past few weeks.  A diaper rash due to ‘teething,’ you might ask?  Yes, due to her four new molars coming in, which is what my doctor declared last week.

Thankfully, in our modern day society, we have dodged one bullet…we no longer have to use cloths and pins for diapers, thanks to our various diaper brands.  In fact, I just asked my Mom just last week, “Did you really have to use cloth diapers for Valerie?” (my oldest sister, born 1978), and she responded, “yes.”   Wow, what a pain in the butt, literally and figuratively.  Now, I know that some mothers still chose to use the ol’ cloth diapers, as it is more economical and much less pricey, but I am not one of those women.  I do, however, applaud any who do that.  I have a hard enough time wiping her poop diapers with wet paper towels or cloths (not wipes, more on that further down this entry)…so I knew if I used cloth diapers I would probably have an even harder time.  I am very glad to be living in a time where I can just run to the store and buy some diapers, even though it WILL cost me!

But let’s back up a bit.  Looking back at my shower, I remember getting some very cute diaper gifts.  Before I became a mother, I used to think, “Giving diapers as a gift?  No thanks, I must buy a cute outfit or a toy or something better,” boy was I wrong…I soon learned that every mom would love to get diaper gifts!  I even remember this awesome Winnie the Pooh theme tiered diaper cake (thank you Aunt Angela), equipped with, of course diapers, and many other cute Pooh baby items (Juliette’s room theme was Pooh and Friends).  These modern day diapers we have come in many any different sizes, brands, and shapes, not to mention all of the creams, wipes, powders, etc. that you will receive as well.  It’s all very exciting it all setting up…from your diaper pail to your diaper stacker, the diaper baskets, the changing table, etc., but soon enough though, your baby is right there and you are now stuck changing many diapers…after diaper, after diaper.  You do get used to it, but it did feel like a bit a chore at first.  The pee-pee diapers are not so bad to clean and are pretty quick to do too, and even the poop diapers aren’t so bad either at first, but as they get older that gets a just a little bit harder.

I was a big baby when I was born, 9 pounds 9 ounces, and my sisters were pretty big too.  My husband was also a big baby, and most of my older sister’s babies were big when they were born.  And since I was carrying Juliette so low when I was pregnant, and had such a big pop-out tummy, not to mention terrible lower back pain, I was convinced I was going to have this huge baby!  But, and I am NOT complaining here, when Juliette came out she was 7 pounds, 9 ounces, which is a small baby in our families…but that was plenty big enough for me, as that is an above average size.  Thus, I did not think we would need many newborn sized diapers, so I didn’t have much at home, I had more size 1’s all ready to go.  Luckily while you are in the hospital, they provide you with diapers, but once you get home, you are on your own.  Although I must admit my husband and I grabbed all the remaining diapers in our hospital room to take back home with us…hey it’s just like when people steal the hotel shampoos, right?

Juliette was in newborn sized diapers for almost two months, so my husband ran out and stocked us up on Newborn sizes after just a few days at home.  No biggie, since we had started with Pampers Swaddlers Sensitive (newborn size) at the hospital, and had one small pack at home too, that’s the brand what we stuck with.  The first few days I didn’t use any powder or creams, as the doctor had advised…but, then on the fourth day, she got very red down there, so I started to used Johnson’s regular baby powder and Desitin (I had about 5 of each of those powders and creams from shower gifts).  I did have a few small free samples of Bordeaux’s Butt Paste too, so I stuck those in my diaper bag for small and easy carrying.  A little while after that, I started to see how the Butt Paste (at least for Juliette) worked much better, so I switched to Johnson’s cornstarch baby powder (which also worked better) and the butt paste for diaper changes.  The powder was on after every diaper change, while the paste was only used a few times a day, just as needed.  This great combination seemed to work for a while on her little tushie.

Then, around the four-month mark, Juliette got a terrible diaper rash, and though it didn’t seem to bother her, it bothered me, A LOT.  As a new mother, as I am sure many new moms can relate, we wonder, “What was I doing wrong?”  The doctors said it could be many things.  I was convinced it was because of the generic form of diapers, (which we had also gotten as a gift), that we started using.  They said it probably wasn’t that, but it could be the baby wipes I used, the fact that she had started teething, etc.  So, they said discontinue use of all wipes, and instead use a soft paper towel with warm water, or a wash cloth with warm water (and a mild soap when needed) to wipe her.  They told me to stop using powders and creams for now, and instead use Vaseline as a barrier on the diaper, then to apply Lotrimin (yeah that funny smelling foot fungus cream) on her rash area.

A little over a week later, this started to work.  I have to tell you though, it was a pain to use wet cloths or soft paper towels, especially when we were outside the house.  Once the rash was cleared though, anytime I tried to use another brand of diapers (other than Pampers) or any type of sensitive wipes, she got a rash…actually, Huggies agreed with her, but she always leaked through those.  So, since Juliette has been about 4 months old, she wears Pampers Sensitive or Cruisers, and I have used purely a wet washcloth or wet soft paper towels to wipe her (Kleenex Viva paper towels seems to work best, they are very soft and cloth-like, and actually cheaper than buying wipes).  I really did miss the convenience of wipes, but oh well…in the words of my favorite fashion mentor, Tim Gunn, it was time to “make it work.”  Figuring out how to wipe her when we were out (if not sink was around) wasn’t too hard, I just had to keep a water bottle and the trusty Viva paper towels in my diaper bag.  I know sensitive skin runs in my family, and I definitely have it, as does my Dad, and I know Juliette carried on that trait too…so, no more wipes for her.

Now, as for the powders and diaper rash cream choices we made.  It is hard to figure out what works for your baby and it changes as they change, and we tried many different brands of each, like Desitin, A&D, Bordeaux’s Butt Paste, Aveeno, Caldesene, Burt’s Bees, Johnson & Johnson’s, Gold Bond, etc.  Through trying all of these we learned that Juliette’s new magic combination was Gold Bond Medicated Baby Powder (not always easy to find, of course, so I always bought a few bottles whenever I did actually see them at the store) and applied Bordeaux’s Butt Paste too as needed.

Up until a few weeks ago her magic diaper combination always worked, without fail, until that is, I saw the worst diaper rash appear that I had ever seen on her!  In addition to that, she had also become impossible to change.  She neverwants to lie down for me for more than 20 seconds without turning over, moaning, or standing back up.  Even with every distraction possible she still wouldn’t be still, and now it was even worse, because when I would wipe her, the poor thing cried in pain.  I called the doctor and told them how bad this rash was and they advised letting her air out (bare butt) as much as possible, soaking her bottom in warm water with a dash of baking soda a few times a day, and applying an antibiotic cream, like a Neosporin or a bacitracin.  If the rash did not go away, they said she might actually have a yeast infection, and I would have to bring her in, but I was very much hoping it would go away!  I acted fast and did all of the things they told me to do…but it was NOT easy.  Letting her roam free we had quite a few accidents, pee on the floor and in the playpen, and on top of that my dog, Layla, even tried to lick some of that pee up, that was really fun to try to get her away from.  Luckily though, we had no poop accidents…whew!

No yeast infection after all, and after a few days it cleared up.  About a week later, we also had her yearly pediatrician.  I had noticed that she had been a bit more cranky than usual too, even though the rash had cleared up, she was waking up in the middle of the night a few times a week, which really wasn’t like her.  She was biting as much as she could, and drooling even more than usual too, so I knew she was probably getting more teeth, on top of the eight ones she already had.  After speaking with the doctor I found out that four of her molars were starting to come in…heck if I would know how many, as she never lets me put my finger in her mouth or even keeps it open for a few seconds for me to look inside it.  She told me that all of this extra saliva from teething that Juliette could be ingesting can actually give her a bad diaper rash…apparently the secretions from the saliva can throw off their PH balance, well that explains the terrible rash!

Her little bottom was clear for another week or so after the appointment, then the rash came back just at the end of last week, ARGH!!!…here we go again.  So, again we started her roaming diaper free here and there throughout the day, soaking her in warm water and baking soda.  The next problem I faced was that I wasn’t sure what to apply on her this time around, as it was not as serious (or had any peeling skin this time) as the last rash.  Then, God smiled upon me and I discovered something wonderful that all mother MUST now about…Baby Anti MONKEY BUTT diaper rash cream!!!  Pretty funny/cute name, right??  I thought it was, and ironically enough, it wasn’t another mom who told me about it, it was a cashier in the Target checkout line when I was searching for my butt paste coupon.  She said her nephew had this terrible rash and that was the one and only thing that helped, but that they didn’t sell it there.  So, I dropped the butt paste and quickly drove down the street to Babies ‘R’ Us, and luckily  they had ONE LEFT!!  I started using it as soon as we got home, and by that evening the rash actually started to look better already!!  AMAZING!!  I would like to thank the people who made Anti-Monkey Butt Diaper Rash cream, because they have helped my daughter’s poor little bottom SOOOO VERY MUCH!  Apparently, it has some magic stuff in it along with calamine lotion, and well, whatever they put in there, it could be mud for all I care, the truth is that IT WORKS!!!  Her rash is pretty gone now, but you better believe I am still applying this cream to keep it away a few times a day.  In addition to that, I will be putting it in my diaper bag, at her changing stations, in my purse, etc.  I will always keep it handy now!  I have also heard that the same brand’s powder is awesome, so I will definitely be trying that too!!!  If you are a mom, or even a person for that matter, and find something that makes your life even a little bit easier, it makes you so extremely happy…and for my daughter it has made a world of a difference!

   

While every baby is very different, and each has their own set of diaper rash and skin issues, be sure to try ALL that is out there!  Although, I have to write, whenever I mention Anti-Monkey Butt to most moms now, they have nothing but great things to say about it, who knew???  Above all, we want to do the best we can for our child…even if that means we have to let them pee on the floor to air out, and then slapping on a good ol’ heaping amount of Anti-Monkey Butt onto their, impossible to change while staying still, little buttocks.    ~J

          

